Uncategorized

30 RULES FOR GODLY WOMEN

Recently, I came across a post titled “EVERY WOMAN SHOULD READ THESE 30 RULES FOR GODLY WOMEN” shared by one of my Facebook friends.

On a whim I decided to read the posts, after all most of the rules are derived from the bible. What is the harm in reading and learning?

I started reading and was getting uncomfortable. These are some of the rules.  I referred to them in my comments on the post:

 2). Don’t expose your husband’s weaknesses to your family and friends. It will bounce back at you. You are each other’s keeper.(Eph 5v12)

4). Never compare your husband to other men, you’ve no idea what their life is all about. If you attack his Ego, his Love for you will diminish.

17). Your parents or family or friends do not have the final say in your marriage. Don’t waste your time looking up to them for a final word. You must Leave if you want to Cleave.(Luke 21v16)

I was shocked. Why would a Christian quote verses of scripture out of context to explain his narratives?

Unlike me, I decided to rant and went like this:

Why make the rules for godly women? This is the frustration in many churches; women are policed and corralled into pens of good behaviour while men who know are men. Many will say it’s because women have issues, but I think the problem of sin is not sex based. I rather encourage everyone male or female to seek their identification in Christ rather than stick to man-made rules. Throwing in some bible verses just makes it Christian themed. The rules can apply to all Christians not just women.

After taking my time to reflect on the verses, I posted another comment:

Besides, Rule 2 misquotes Ephesians 5:12 “It is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret” What was Apostle Paul talking about there? Rule 4 says “If you attack his Ego, his Love for you will diminish” does this not contradict the scriptures that admonish a husband to love his wife sacrificially the way Christ loves the church? Does Christ’s love diminish when we misbehave as believers? Rule 17 takes scripture out of context “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.” It is a man who is commanded to leave and cleave. Genesis 2:24, Ephesians 5:31, Matthew 19:5. I could go on and on, but it is evident that these rules you’ve put up while they appear godly, because some verses are slapped to it, they don’t reflect the intent of the bible. God bless us all.

I may be wrong, but I really believe that bible knowledge is not an end in itself. It is a means of developing intimacy with God. And, in growing in this intimate walk, the Holy Spirit teaches us a lot of mysteries.

Revelations do not bother me.

What scares me is the need to use the bible to promote personal ideas.

Honestly, it serves no use to misquote scripture. When we do that, we just create more dos and don’ts that will be broken. Relationships and intimacy with God and fellow believers won’t be fostered.

And then, Christianity will be a bunch of moral codes to conform people to the behaviour we think is appropriate, rather than the growing to become like Christ.

End of confession on the day I went trolling.

Leave a comment